2016 Leo Molloy

John Menchia wins 2016 Leo Molloy Memorial in Dramatic Fashion

 2016 Winners John and Geraldine 

John Menchia Gallagher is the 2016 Leo Molloy Memorial Darts singles champion for the second time, he won this event in 2012 but this years was even more special as we had a very strong turnout with some of the best players in the North West in action and on the day the standard was of the highest quality on all boards from the first match to the final. His opponent in the final was last year’s winner Liam Gallagher from Galway whose father hails from Kilybegs, Liam raced into a 3-0 lead, John got his first leg with a tops before Liam finished 80 to go 4-1 up and looking to be on his way to retaining the title, but in dramatic fashion Menchia began his comeback, a tops a 94 checkout and a thirteen dart leg tied it up at 4-4, he then took out a 100 finish to hit the lead and completed the comeback and a brilliant performance with a 97 checkout in what was one of best finals of this great tournament. We also had a a dramatic comeback in the semi-final that just fell short as Joe Gallagher came from 4-0 down against Liam to 4-4 before Liam scraped by 5-4, Menchia beat Andrew Barron 5-1 in the other semi. We had over 70 players paid into to play while some could not get there on the day we still had an excellent turnout as this tournament continues to grow, in the Ladies tournaments Geraldine Harkin retained her title with a 3-1 over Majella Cunningham. Thanks to all our board sponsors, Kilcar House and John Joes for hosting, all the players for entering and all who marked and checked games on the day or helped out in any way thanks! 

2016 Runner Up Liam Gallagher with Aaron Molloy and Kenneth Kennedy


John Gallagher 6 Liam Gallagher 4

Semi Finals

John Gallagher 5 Andrew Barron 1

Liam Gallagher 5 Joe Gallagher 4

Quarter Finals

John Gallagher 4 Kieran Gallagher 3 (120 checkout John who was 3-1 down)

Andrew Barron 4 John Murray 0

Liam Gallagher 4 Paddy Boyce 3 (Paddy 161 checkout)

Joe Gallagher 4 John Con McGinley 2

Board Finals

John Gallagher 4 JP Byrne 0

Kieran Gallagher 4 Dylan Curran 0

Andrew Barron 4 Amir Quiambao 3

John Murray 4 Kenneth Kennedy 1

Liam Gallagher 4 Stephen Nicholson 3 (120 checkout Liam)

Paddy Boyce 4 James Byrne 1

Joe Gallagher 4 Paddy Haughey 2

John Con McGinley 4 Charlie Grant 1

Second Round

John Gallagher 3 Roger McShane 0

JP Byrne 3 Frankie Begley 1

Kieran Gallagher 3 Geraldine Harkin 0

Dylan Curran 3 David Fuller 1

Andrew Barron 3 Raymond Hegarty 2

Amir Quiambao 3 Donal Duddy 2

John Murray 3 Darren Rawdon 0

Kenneth Kennedy 3 Michael McShane 0

Liam Gallagher 3 Paul Leech 2

Stephen Nicholson 3 Gerry McBrearty 1

Paddy Boyce 3 Liam Conaghan 0

James Byrne 3 Alex Hughes 2

Joe Gallagher 3 Jordan Boyce 2

Paddy Haughey 3 Donal Kelly 0

John Con McGinley 3 Kevin Lyons 0

Charlie Grant 3 Martin Barr 1

First Round

John Gallagher 3 Jonathon Cree 2

Roger McShane 3 Ryan McShane 0

JP Byrne 3 Barry McShane 0

Frankie Begley 3 Joe Shovlin 1

Kieran Gallagher 3 Aidan McGinley 0

Geraldine Harkin 3 Declan Quinn 0 w/o

Dylan Curran 3 John Joe Byrne 2

David Fuller 3 Jason Harron 0 w/o

Andrew Barron 3 Liam McShane 1

Raymond Hegarty 3 James Bracken Byrne 0

Amir Quiambao 3 John Byrne 0

Donal Duddy 3 Neville Connaghan 0 w/o

John Murray 3 Shaun Gallagher 0 w/o

Darren Rawdon 3 Alan Byrne 0 w/o

Kenneth Kennedy 3 Irwin Muirhead 0

Michael McShane 3 Noel Kennedy 0

Liam Gallagher 3 Eoghan McGill 0

Paul Leech 3 Michael Molloy 0

Stephen Nicholson 3 Fintan Hughes 1 (Fintan 151 Checkout)

Gerry McBrearty 3 John McDermott 1

Paddy Boyce 3 Peter Hughes 0

Liam Conaghan 3 Seanie Boyle 1

James Byrne 3 Aaron McShane 2

Alex Hughes 3 Mick Carr 0 w/o

Joe Gallagher 3 Aaron Molloy 0

Jordan Boyce 3 Michael Curran 1

Paddy Haughey 3 Stephen Harron 0 w/o

Donal Kelly 3 Miley 0 w/o

John Con McGinley 3 Daniel McDermott 0

Kevin Lyons 3 Daniel Lyons 0

Charlie Grant 3 Hugh Doherty 2

Martin Barr 3 Stephen Muirhead 1

Preliminary Round

Joe Gallagher 3 David Harron 0

Roger McShane 3 Denis McDermott 0

Kieran Gallagher 3 Frankie Greene 0 w/o

James Bracken Byrne 3 Paul Quinn 0

Mick Carr 3 Seamie Scanlon 0 w/o

Kenneth Kennedy 3 Gerry Lyons 0

Stephen Nicholson 3 Cormac Cunningham 0

2016 Semis Andrew Barron and Joe Gallagher with Aaron and Kenneth

2016 Quarter Finalists John Murray, Kieran Gallagher and Paddy Boyce (missing John McGinley)

2016 Ladies Runner Up Majella Cunningham 

This Saturday 12th March Kilcar hosts the 15th annual Leo Molloy Memorial Darts singles cup, this tournament is held in memory of the late Leo Molloy who reformed the South West Donegal Darts League in the early 90s and ran many successful tournaments he was also the manager of the first Donegal darts team to win the All-Ireland before he was passed away at a young age, this tournament is a fitting tribute to him where we have had big name winners like Brendan Dolan, Shaun McGowan and Martin McCloskey while John Gallagher and John Con McGinley are the only SWDDL players to win. Over 70 players entered last year where teenager Liam Gallagher from Galway beat Anthony Mularkey of Sligo in the final, while in the Ladies competition Geraldine Harkin won the title. Tickets are €10 to both competitions and we start at 5pm, you can get tickets in Kilcar House or from James Byrne contact 086-9969256 and also via the donegaldarts.com website. A guaranteed prize fund of at least €1,000 to be won and nine dart boards will be in use on the day we hope to see another big entry and we guarantee a day of exciting day of darts in Kilcar!

CONTACT:086-9969256 or 086-8361698

Prizes for last 8 onwards

The draw takes place in Kilcar House on Friday 11th at 9:30pm and will be posted on the Facebook Event page.

Ladies Tournament also Entry's on the Day (no ticket required €10 enter fee)

Get tickets on PayPal 


Number of Tickets


Upcoming Events

No events