2018 Con Sean

Created: Friday, 09 November 2018

John Con clinches Con Sean win in dramatic final

John Con McGinley rolled back the years when he won the 2018 Con Sean in dramatic fashion the 2008 and 2012 winner was in fine form on the day as he defeated Michael Leech 6-5 in the final all the games went with the darts up until Michael came from 5-3 down after the broke the throw to level it at 5-5 and missed one dart at double to win it but overall McGinley was a deserving winner to round off a great day of darts in The Rusty, John beat Antony Gallagher 5-0 in the semi while Michael beat two times winner Dermot McGuire 5-1. We had almost 60 players enter this year which was the 20th Con Sean anniversary of this event. Thanks to The Rusty for hosting, to all players, checkers and markers for helping make the day such a success the 2019 Con Sean will be back at its normal date in January. Highest checkout of the day was a 160 by Antony Gallagher in the deciding leg of his quarter final match against Orin McDermott.


John Con McGinley 6 Michael Leech 5

Semi Finals

John Con McGinley 5 Antony Gallagher 0

Michael Leech 5 Dermot McGuire 1

Quarter Finals

John Con McGinley 4 Stephen Harron 1

Antony Gallagher 4 Orin McDermott 3 (160 c/o Antony)

Michael Leech 4 Stephen Muirhead 0 (156 c/o Michael)

Dermot McGuire 4 Michael Curran 1

Third Round

John Con McGinley 3 Kieran Carr 1

Stephen Harron 3 John Menchia 2

Antony Gallagher 3 Adrian Byrne 0

Orin McDermott 3 Gerard Tourish 2

Michael Leech 3 Ronan Kennedy 1 (108c/o Michael)

Stephen Muirhead 3 Francis McShane 2

Dermot McGuire 3 Liam Donegan 1

Michael Curran 3 Stephen Nicolson 1

Second Round

John Con McGinley 3 James Doherty 0

Kieran Carr 3 David Harron 0

Stephen Harron 3 Raymond Curran 0

John Menchia 3 Francis Hegarty 0

Antony Gallagher 3 Johnny Bell 2 (120 c/o Antony)

Adrian Byrne 3 Reece Brennan 2

Orin McDermott 3 JP Byrne 0

Gerard Tourish 3 Martin Barr 1

Michael Leech 3 John McHugh 0

Ronan Kennedy 3 Martin McBrearty 0

Stephen Muirhead 3 Hugh Doherty 2

Francis McShane w/o Mick Carr

Dermot McGuire 3 James Byrne 0

Liam Donegan 3 Declan Quinn 1

Michael Curran 3 Brendan Kennedy 1

Stephen Nicolson 3 Joe Gallagher 0

First Round

John Con McGinley 3 Packie Gallen 1

James Doherty 3 Paul McLaughlin 0

Kieran Carr 3 John Kelly 0

David Harron w/o Irwin Muirhead

Stephen Harron w/o Johnny Clement

Raymond Curran 3 Christy Gallen 2

John Menchia 3 Dylan Curran 0

Francis Hegarty w/o Joe Flood

Antony Gallagher 3 Eoghain McGill 1

Johnny Bell 3 Conor O’Donoghue 0

Adrian Byrne w/o Kieran Gallagher

Reece Brennan 3 Owen Carr 0

Orin McDermott 3 Conor McShane 0

JP Byrne w/o John Flood

Gerard Tourish 3 Brian McNally 0

Martin Barr 3 Ryan McBrearty 1

Michael Leech Bye

John McHugh 3 John Byrne 2

Ronan Kennedy 3 Columba McGarvey 0

Martin McBrearty 3 John Holden 2

Stephen Muirhead w/o Cartha Boyle

Hugh Doherty 3 Liam Melly 0

Francis McShane 3 John Byrne (Teelin) 0

Mick Carr Bye

Dermot McGuire 3 Liam Gallagher 1

James Byrne 3 Norman Fuller 0

Liam Donegan 3 Andrew Barron 1

Declan Quinn 3 Gerry McBrearty 0

Michael Curran 3 Jamie McNern 0

Brendan Kennedy 3 Dean Taylor 0

Stephen Nicolson 3 Peter Leech 2

Joe Gallagher 3 Phelim McGill 0

Runner up Michael Leech

Semi Finals Anthony Gallagher and Dermot McGuire

Quarter Finals Stephen Harron, Michael Curran, Orin McDermott and Stephen Muirhead


Later than usual and in a new venue the Con Sean Darts Tournament takes place on Saturday 13 October in The Rusty Mackerel, Teelin. 

This marks the 20th holding of this prestigious competition and the question is who can stop John Flood making it 5 in a row? We taking names you can enter by leaving it bellow on the entries post, calling into The Rusty or texting me at 086-9969256. We will have 4 boards and hot food available on the day. 

€1000 in prizes guaranteed €10 to enter. No entries on the day all names to be in before Friday 12th as we have to start on time as we always have a big entry since the first one back in The Docs in 1999. Open to all players.

List of previous 19 finals:
2017 John Flood 6 John Gallagher 1
2016 John Flood 6 Andrew Gillespie 5
2015 John Flood 6 Noel O'Donnell 2
2014 John Flood 6-4 Gerard McGlynn
2013 Dermot McGuire 6-1 John Gallagher
2012 John Con McGinley 6-4 Andrew Gillespie 
2011 John Flood 6-4 John Murray
2010 John Flood 5-1 John D Gallagher
2009 Dermot McGuire 5-0 Declan Cunningham
2008 John McGinley 5-4 Declan Cunningham
2007 John Flood 4-2 Kenneth Kennedy
2006 Kenneth Kennedy 4-2 Tommy Feeney
2005 Charlie Grant 4-1 Declan Cunningham 
2004 Garry Bell 4-0 John Con McGinley
2003 Raymond Hegarty 4-3 John Con McGinley
2002 John Ward 4-2 Joe Byrne 
2001 Gerald Harvey 4-1 Alan McBrearty 
2000 Seamus Curran 4-3 Hugh Doherty 
1999 Kenneth Kennedy 4-1 Bernie Mullen


Hits: 2508

Upcoming Events

No events