2012 Benny Gillespie

Created: Monday, 20 February 2012 Last Updated: Tuesday, 12 August 2014 Written by James Byrne

John Con takes 2012 Benny Gillespie Title

2012 Benny Gillespie Champion John Con McGinleyu

John being presented the cup by Damien Carr

John McGinley made it three tournament wins out of four in the SWDDL area this season with his second win of the Benny Gillespie which was played on Saturday 18th Feb following a two year absence. Over 30 players took place in an open draw format per round, John defeated teammate Anthony Gallagher 6-4 in the final which provided great entertainment for the viewing spectators and only for a narrow miss at a double by Anthony it could have going to a deciding leg! John defeated Francis McShane from Teelin in the semis 5-2 it was a great display of darts othe day by Francis considering he is not playing for a league team, Hugh Doherty Jnr was the other loosing semi-finalist going down 5-1. With only two tournaments to go The Pat Rawdon on March 10th and the Leo Molloy in April it will be the last chances for players to qualify for the Players Cup tournament in April.

Runner up Anthony Gallagher

Runner up Anthony Gallagher with Damien Carr


John McGinley 6 Anthony Gallagher 4

Semi Finalist Francis McShane

Semi Finalist Hugh Doherty

Semi Finals

John McGinley 5 Francis McShane 2

Anthony Gallagher 5 Hugh Doherty Jnr 1

Quarter Finals

John McGinley 4 Joe Mockler 1 (135 check out Joe)

Francis McShane 4 John McHugh 1

Anthony Gallagher 4 Michael Byrne 2

Hugh Doherty Jnr 4 Andrew Gillespie 1

Second Round

John McGinley 3 Francis Curran 0

Joe Mockler 3 Darragh O’Gara 2

Francis McShane 3 Dermot McGuire 2

John McHugh 3 Barry Carr 2

Anthony Gallagher 3 Rodger McShane 0

Michael Byrne 3 Kevin Squires 0

Hugh Doherty Jnr 3 Paul Gillespie 2

Andrew Gillespie 3 Kenneth Byrne 0

First Round

John McGinley 3 Colin McNelis 0

Francis McShane 3 Damien Carr 0

Joe Mockler Bye

Darragh O’Gara 3 Oisin McGinley 1

Francis Curran 3 James “Braken” Byrne0

Dermot McGuire 3 Jason Cunnea 0

John McHugh 3 Columba Carroll 1

Barry Carr 3 Jamie McNern 1

Anthony Gallagher 3 Conal O’Gara 2

Rodger McShane 3 James Byrne 2

Michael Byrne 3 Declan McGuire 0

Kevin Squires 3 Gabriel Boyle 2

Hugh Doherty Jnr 3 Norman Fuller 0

Paul Gillespie 3 Noel McDevitt 0

Andrew Gillespie 3 Kieran Carr 1

Kenneth Byrne 3 Gary Gillespie 0



Hits: 4124

Upcoming Events

No events