Created: Monday, 18 January 2016

John Flood makes in 3 in a row Con Sean Titles

 John Flood accepting the cup from Francis McShane

John Flood claimed his third Con Sean darts title in a row and his sixth win in ten years which a remarkable record considering the strong field of players from all over Donegal who enter this event every January.  This year’s final was the most exciting in the eighteen years of the event with John edging out local favourite Andrew Gillespie 6-5, Andrew got off to the perfect start winning the first three legs finishing double eighteen, five and tops. Flood levelled it up at 3-3 with a 53 finish, double eleven and an eleven dart leg where he started off with 7 perfect darts. Andrew regained the lead with a pressure double five finish with the last dart, John tied it up again a 4-4 with a sixteen dart leg followed by a fourteen dart leg and 76 finish, but Andrew hit back to take it to a decider with a double four finish hitting 174 to set himself up but in the final leg John won it in fifteen darts to keep the title for another year great credit to both players for giving us a great final. In the semi-finals John fought of a great effort from Andrew Barron to win 5-3 while Andrew beat Mike Naulty Jnr 5-1, highest checkout of the day was a 170 by Joe Flood, John Flood had a 160 checkout also. Almost 60 players entered this year and overall the standard was very high, thanks to all who entered and all who helped this run smoothly by marking games and to the Bridge Bar and staff for hosting this event and with all that help we were finished just before midnight.


John Flood 6 Andrew Gillespie 5

Semi Finals

John Flood 5 Andrew Barron 3

Andrew Gillespie 5 Mike Naulty Jnr 1

Quarter Finals

John Flood 4 Joe Flood 3

Andrew Barron 4 John Con McGinley 0

Andrew Gillespie 4 Declan Quinn 1

Mike Naulty Jnr 4 James Byrne 2

Third Round

John Flood 4 Mick Carr 0

Joe Flood 4 John Menchia Gallagher 3

Andrew Barron 4 Donal Duddy 0

John Con McGinley 4 Jason Harron 0

Andrew Gillespie 4 Michael Byrne 3

Declan Quinn 4 John Kelly 0

Mike Naulty Jnr 4 Alan Byrne 3

James Byrne 4 Johnny Bell 1

Second Round

John Flood 3 Kieran Gallagher 0 160 c/o John

Mick Carr 3 James Ryan McBrearty 0

Joe Flood 3 Eoghan McGill 0

John Menchia Gallagher 3 Bill Green 0

Andrew Barron 3 Brian McNally 0

Donal Duddy 3 Gerry McBrearty 1

John Con McGinley 3 Packie Gallen 0

Jason Harron 3 Sam Hegarty 1

Andrew Gillespie 3 Conor McNelis 1

Michael Byrne 3 Patrick Carr 0

Declan Quinn 3 Kevin McNern 0

John Kelly 3 Francis McShane 1

Alan Byrne 3 James Byrne (Bracken) 0

James Byrne 3 Stephen Harron 2

Johnny Bell 3 Joe Shovlin 2

First Round

John Flood 3 Declan Cunningham 0 114 c/o John

Kieran Gallagher 3 David Harron 0

James Ryan McBrearty 0

Joe Flood 3 Jamie McNern 0 170 c/o Joe

John Menchia Gallagher 3 David Kennedy 1

Andrew Barron 3 Irwin Muirhead 1

Donal Duddy 3 David Flood 1

John Con McGinley 3 Josie Gillespie 0

Packie Gallen 3 David Fuller 0

Jason Harron 3 Phelim McGill 0

Sam Hegarty 3 Liam Donegan 0

Andrew Gillespie 3 JP Byrne 1

Michael Byrne 3 John McHugh 0

Patrick Carr 3 Aidan McGinley 1 100 c/o Aidan

John Kelly 3 Gabriel Boyle 1

Alan Byrne 3 Dylan Curran 0

James Byrne (Bracken) 3 Michael Curran 2

Stephen Harron 3 Barry Carr 1

Johnny Bell 3 Reece Furey brogan 0

Mike Naulty Jnr 3 Conor McShane 0

Joe Shovlin 3 Martin Barr 1

Con Sean runner up Andrew Gillespie

Con Sean semi finalists: Andrew Barron and Mike Naulty

Con Sean quarter finalists: Declan Quinn, James Byrne, Joe Flood and John Con McGinley

Highest Checkout of 170 by Joe Flood


Upcoming Events

No events