2005 Leo Molloy

Created: Tuesday, 16 August 2011 Last Updated: Tuesday, 12 August 2014 Written by James Byrne

The annual Leo Molloy Memorial Darts Tournament was held in Kilcar on 5th February last in three venues John Joe’s, Kilcar House and O’Gara’s with over 100 players taking part in the men’s and ladies singles.

Men’s Singles
The men’s competition with 92 players involved saw some magnificent matches.  Reigning two times Champion Brendan Dolan was defeated at board semi final by John Ward (Sligo). Local players who did well were Cara Boyle, Andrew Gillespie, John Con McGinley, Declan Cunningham, Michael Molloy and James McGinley all making it to board finals with John Con making it to the last eight.

Quarter Finals
Bob Alexander (Sligo) 2 Charlie Grant (Quigleys Point) 4
Sean McGowen (Sligo) 0 Martin McCluskey (Letterkenny) 4
Amir Quiambao (Stranolar) 4 Geoff Cox (Sligo) 1
John Ward (Sligo) 4 John McGinley (Glencolmcille) 1
Semi Finals
Martin McCloskey 4 John Ward 3
Amir Quiambao 4 Charlie Grant 0
Martin McCloskey 4 Amir Quiambao 1

On Sunday the top 32 players SWDDL players from Saturday played a tournament in O’Gara’s.
Semi Finals
Raymond Hegerty 3 John Con McGinley 2
Andrew Gillespie 3 Roger McShane 2
Raymond Hegerty 3 Andrew Gillespie 2

Ladies tournament
Reigning Ladies Champion Angela DeWard successfully defended her title with a great win over Geraldine Harkin in a keenly contested final, beaten semi finalist were Majella Cunningham and Kathy Burke.

Hits: 3774

Upcoming Events

No events